AI receptionists in Canada compared: prices and plans (surveyed October 23, 2026)

Entry price, billing unit, included volume, setup fee, trial and French: every AI receptionist sold in Canada, read on the provider's official page, with the link and the date.

Which AI receptionist should you choose in Canada, and at what price?

There is no single best choice, and published entry prices differ by more than a factor of a hundred from one provider to the next, because they do not buy the same thing: a few minutes from one, several hundred from another, a real person on the line, or a project built by an agency. For a small business whose customers call in English and in French, three criteria narrow the field quickly: a plan counted in calls rather than minutes, no setup fee, and French named as a call language.

The right choice then depends on your calls: how many, how long, and what you expect afterwards, whether that is a message, a booking or a callback. A plan counted in calls does not run out faster when a customer talks for a long time; a plan counted in minutes does.

Zenvox, which publishes this page, sells one fixed-price plan per industry, in Canadian dollars, with 50 Standard calls included whatever their length, one local number, no setup fee and no contract. Its row is in the table, on the same criteria as every other provider and marked as the publisher's, and the page also says when another choice is better.

The criteria that matter, in the order they cost you

The billing unit. A plan counted in minutes runs out with long calls: a customer who spends six minutes describing water damage uses as much as three two-minute calls. A plan counted in calls gives you a number of conversations, whatever their length; a plan counted in unique customers groups the calls of one person. Prices only compare between plans that count the same thing.

The included volume. Read the number next to the price: an entry plan can include a few dozen minutes or several hundred. Beyond it, some providers bill each extra minute and others move you to the next tier; those rates are not part of this survey.

The setup fee. Some providers state it is zero, others publish one, sometimes in the thousands of dollars, and others do not mention it. A fee that is not mentioned is not a fee that does not exist: the table tells “none” apart from a published amount and from “not stated”.

The trial and the card. A free trial lets you hear the receptionist answer your own customers before you pay. Check how long it lasts, what it caps and whether a credit card is required at signup; the table notes the card only when the page says so.

French and English. In Quebec, and in francophone communities across the country, a receptionist that struggles with a French-speaking customer can do more harm than voicemail. The table marks “yes” only when the provider's page names French as a call language. Listen to it before you sign: the accent, street names and phone numbers read out in French are the tests that count.

Booking and the summary. Some receptionists take down a request and leave the callback to you; others book into your Google or Microsoft calendar, based on your real availability, then send you a text or email summary: who called, what for, how urgent. Pricing pages do not describe these two points in a comparable way: check them during the trial, in your own calendar.

Where the data lives. Call recordings and transcripts contain personal information. Ask where they are kept, where the voice is processed in real time and how long a subprocessor keeps a copy. Law 25 in Quebec, and the federal or provincial law that applies elsewhere in Canada, place these obligations on your business, not on your provider.

The contract. A monthly plan with no commitment can be left the following month; an agreement of a year or more cannot. Read the commitment length and the notice period before the price.

The table: published entry prices as of October 23, 2026

The table is sorted by entry price at face value: amounts in US dollars are not converted. On a phone, scroll it sideways.

Surveyed October 23, 2026 on the vendors’ official pricing pages
ProviderTypeEntry price per monthIncluded volumeSetup feeFree trialFrenchCompany countryPage read on
OKAI Canadaokai.caAI receptionist$5*25 minutesnot stated3 daysnot statedCanada, OKAI Canada pricing page
Planeviaplanevia.caAI receptionistfrom $5*no minutes included: billed per minute, on top of a Planevia plannot stated14 days, no cardyesCanada, Planevia pricing page
Ooma AI Answering Serviceooma.caPhone-system add-onfrom $14.99*40 minutes, on top of an Ooma Office plannot statednot mentionednot statedUnited States, Ooma AI Answering Service pricing page
Zenvoxzenvox.caPublisher of this pageAI receptionist$29 to $698 industry plans, no contract50 Standard calls, whatever their length; 1 local numbernone7 days, 20 answered calls, no cardyesCanadaPricingthe publisher’s own price list
Dialzaradialzara.comAI receptionist$29 US60 minutesnone7 daysnoUnited States, Dialzara pricing page
Voxaravoxara.caAI receptionist$49100 minutesnonenot mentionednot statedCanada, Voxara pricing page
Ailloaillo.caAI receptionist$49 US150 minutesnot statednot mentionedyesCanada, Aillo pricing page
RingCentral AI Receptionistringcentral.comPhone-system add-onfrom $49 US*100 minutesnot stated14 daysyesUnited States, RingCentral AI Receptionist pricing page
RoehAIroehai.comAI receptionist$49 US*120 minutesnot stated7 daysnot statedCanada, RoehAI pricing page
Rosieheyrosie.comAI receptionist$49 US*250 minutesnot stated7 daysnoUnited States, Rosie pricing page
Ariaheyaria.caAI receptionist$59150 minutesnone7 days, no cardyesCanada, Aria pricing page
Goodcallgoodcall.comAI receptionist$79 US*100 unique customers (about 150 calls)not statednot mentionednot statedUnited States, Goodcall pricing page
Simple Phonessimplephones.aiAI receptionistfrom $97 US*100 callsnot stated14 daysyesUnited States, Simple Phones pricing page
Allie (Allema)allie.allema.caAI receptionist$99*250 minutesnot stated14 days, no cardyesCanada, Allie (Allema) pricing page
Ask Bennyaskbenny.caAI receptionist$99300 minutesnone7 daysyesCanada, Ask Benny pricing page
Clémentine (Allesi)allesi.caAI receptionistfrom $99*volume not publishedfrom $300*not mentionedyesCanada, Clémentine (Allesi) pricing page
Hey Jodieheyjodie.comAI receptionist$99no minute cap advertisednone7 days, no cardyesUnited Kingdom, Hey Jodie pricing page
Virtual Assistant Canadavirtualassistantcanada.caAI receptionist$99200 minutesnonenot mentionednot statedCanada, Virtual Assistant Canada pricing page
My AI Front Deskmyaifrontdesk.comAI receptionist$99 US*200 minutesnot stated7 days, no cardnot statedUnited States, My AI Front Desk pricing page
Dialboxdialbox.caAI receptionist$129100 callsnot stated7 days, card requirednot statedCanada, Dialbox pricing page
Smith.ai AI Receptionistsmith.aiAI receptionist$150 US*75 callsnot statednot mentionednot statedUnited States, Smith.ai AI Receptionist pricing page
Sofia (Nexia)nexia-ai.caAI receptionist$197*250 minutes$499*not mentionedyesCanada, Sofia (Nexia) pricing page
Agent IA Vocalagentiavocal.caAI receptionist$199 US60 minutes$999 USnot mentionedyesCanada, Agent IA Vocal pricing page
Zenicallzenicall.caAI receptionist$200120 minutes$495not mentionedyesCanada, Zenicall pricing page
Rubyruby.comHuman answering$250 US*50 minutes with a human receptionistnonenot mentionednoUnited States, Ruby pricing page
Allô Cliniqueallo-clinique.comAI receptionist$299*300 calls (clinics)$499*, refundable on conditions14 daysnot statedCanada, Allô Clinique pricing page
Mihron AImihronai.caAI receptionist$299volume not published (fair use)not stated14 daysyesCanada, Mihron AI pricing page
Nova Secrétariatnovasecretariat.caAI receptionist$299*500 minutes$2,500*not mentionedyesCanada, Nova Secrétariat pricing page
Voxifyvoxify.caAI receptionist$300no call cap advertisednonenot mentionedyesCanada, Voxify pricing page
VocalOpsvocalops.caAI receptionist$400500 minutesnonenot mentionednot statedCanada, VocalOps pricing page
AI Humansaihumans.devImplementation agency$495*volume not published; implementation agencyfrom $3,500*not mentionedyesCanada, AI Humans pricing page
SYNAPSE.aitrysynapse.caAI receptionist$497*no call cap advertised (restaurants)not stated14 days, no cardyesCanada, SYNAPSE.ai pricing page
AutoScale AIautoscaleai.caAI receptionist$797700 minutesnot statednot mentionedyesCanada, AutoScale AI pricing page
Agentyxagentyx.caImplementation agency$1,199*100 calls; implementation agency$9,995*not mentionednot statedCanada, Agentyx pricing page

* currency inferred from the vendor’s page: the page only writes “$”, and the currency shown is that of the company’s home country.

Published monthly prices, billed monthly, before tax, in Canadian dollars unless marked “US”. Currencies not converted.

“From”: the entry price is a floor, and the vendor does not detail what raises it.

“French”: “yes” when the page names French as a call language, “no” when it names other languages without it. Amounts billed beyond the included volume are not in this table.

The Zenvox row comes from the price list of Zenvox, which publishes this page. Every other row comes from the vendor’s official page, read on the date shown.

AI receptionists from Canadian companies

This is the largest group in the table: OKAI Canada, Voxara, Aillo, RoehAI, Aria, Allie (Allema), Clémentine (Allesi), Polaris Voice, Virtual Assistant Canada, Dialbox, Sofia (Nexia), Agent IA Vocal, Zenicall, Allô Clinique, Nova Secrétariat, Voxify, VocalOps, SYNAPSE.ai and AutoScale AI. The minute is the dominant unit here; Dialbox and Allô Clinique count calls, Voxify and SYNAPSE.ai advertise no call cap, and Clémentine does not publish its volume.

Two of them target one industry: Allô Clinique serves clinics and SYNAPSE.ai restaurants. Six publish a setup fee, from a few hundred to a few thousand dollars: Clémentine, Sofia, Agent IA Vocal, Zenicall, Allô Clinique, which refunds it on conditions, and Nova Secrétariat. Voxara, Aria, Virtual Assistant Canada, Voxify and VocalOps state that they charge none.

French is named as a call language by Aillo, Aria, Allie, Clémentine, Sofia, Agent IA Vocal, Zenicall, Nova Secrétariat, Voxify, SYNAPSE.ai and AutoScale AI; the other pages do not name languages or only say “bilingual”, which is checked by listening. Planevia, also Canadian, sells AI reception by the minute on top of a Planevia plan, with no minutes included.

Foreign providers selling to Canadian businesses

Dialzara, Rosie, Goodcall, Simple Phones, My AI Front Desk and Smith.ai AI Receptionist are American companies; Hey Jodie is British and publishes a Canadian pricing page, in Canadian dollars. The others show their prices in US dollars, which the table does not convert: at equal face value, a plan in US dollars costs more than one in Canadian dollars, and the gap depends on the day's exchange rate.

Their units vary: Goodcall counts unique customers, Simple Phones and Smith.ai count calls, Hey Jodie advertises no minute cap, and the others count minutes. Dialzara and Rosie name English and Spanish, without French; Simple Phones and Hey Jodie name French.

AI options from phone-system providers

Two business phone systems sell AI answering as an add-on. Ooma's AI Answering Service is added on top of an Ooma Office plan, so its price does not include the phone subscription it requires. RingCentral publishes its AI Receptionist with a floor price, without detailing what raises it. If you already use one of these systems, the add-on keeps everything on one bill.

Human answering services

Ruby, an American company, sells minutes with a human receptionist, billed in US dollars, with no setup fee; its page names Spanish, not French. A real person can handle a delicate conversation better, where judgement matters more than speed. In return, a minute costs more than with an AI receptionist, and the volume included at the entry price is counted in tens of minutes rather than hundreds.

Implementation agencies

AI Humans and Agentyx, two Canadian agencies, build an agent to order and maintain it every month. Their setup fees run into the thousands of dollars, and Agentyx publishes the highest monthly entry price in the table. In exchange, an agency adapts the agent to your own systems, which a self-serve product does not do beyond the connections it offers.

What the table does not show

Other providers sold in Canada are not in it: their official page publishes no price, refers you to a sales representative, or could not be read on the survey date. No price is guessed for them, and no figure read anywhere other than the provider's own page is reused.

It also does not record booking, the summary, where the data lives or the commitment. And it shows the entry price, not the price of your month: beyond the included volume, each provider has its own rule, and a busy month can cost several times the entry price.

Where Zenvox fits

Zenvox is a bilingual AI receptionist, in English and French, sold self-serve to small businesses in Canada. It answers calls, asks the questions specific to your trade, books appointments in your calendar based on your availability and sends you a summary after every call.

The price is a fixed plan per industry, in Canadian dollars per month: the lowest and the highest of the eight plans appear on the Zenvox row of the table. Each plan includes 50 Standard calls, whatever their length, and one local number, with no setup fee and no contract. Free trial: 7 days, up to 20 answered calls, no card, add-ons included.

The account is created with your email, with no consultation and no technical setup. Where your call records live and where the voice is processed are written in one sentence at the bottom of this page, the same one across the site.

Set against the table, the Zenvox plan counts calls rather than minutes, has no setup fee and names French; its entry price, on the other hand, is not the lowest.

When another choice is better

If you want a human voice on the line, a service like Ruby meets that need, at the price of a person. If your phone system is already Ooma Office or RingCentral, your provider's add-on avoids a second subscription. If you need an agent connected to internal systems nobody else connects to, an implementation agency builds that link.

If you get a few short calls a month and price is your only criterion, some minute-based entry plans cost less than the cheapest Zenvox plan. And if your clinic or restaurant wants a product built for that one industry, Allô Clinique and SYNAPSE.ai present themselves that way.

Method and survey date

Zenvox publishes this page and is one of the providers compared; read it with that in mind. That is why every row links to the provider's official page, why the Zenvox row is marked as the publisher's, and why the page carries no rating, no review and no ranking.

The entry price is the cheapest published paid monthly plan that includes a volume, or states it has none, at the monthly billing rate when the page also offers annual billing. A permanent free plan or a pay-as-you-go formula with no included volume is not an entry, unless it is the only thing the provider sells, and the row says so.

The pages were read on October 23, 2026. The currency is the one the page states; when it only writes “$”, the currency of the company's home country is used and the row carries an asterisk. No amount is converted. The survey is redone every month, and the table caption tells you which one you are reading.

More on this site

The pages of the site that detail what this comparison sums up.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best AI receptionist for a small business in Canada?

The one that counts what your calls actually use, names your language and does not charge you to try it. Compare the billing unit first, minutes or calls, then the included volume, the setup fee, the trial and French. No provider wins on every criterion: the table on this page puts them side by side, so you can choose on your own priorities.

Which AI receptionists answer in French?

As of October 23, 2026, these providers name French as a call language on their page: Aillo, Aria, Allie (Allema), Ask Benny, Clémentine (Allesi), Sofia (Nexia), Agent IA Vocal, Zenicall, Mihron AI, Nova Secrétariat, Voxify, SYNAPSE.ai, AutoScale AI and Planevia in Canada; RingCentral AI Receptionist, Simple Phones and Hey Jodie among foreign providers; the agency AI Humans; and Zenvox. Others only say “bilingual”: listen to a call in French before you choose.

Which AI receptionists are available in Quebec?

The Canadian providers in the table sell to Canadian businesses, and several of them, such as Aillo, Aria, Voxify and Nova Secrétariat, are based in Quebec according to their page. For a Quebec business, the deciding criterion is French named as a call language, then Law 25: ask where your recordings are kept and where the voice is processed. Zenvox serves businesses in Quebec and across Canada, French first.

Which AI receptionists have no setup fee?

As of October 23, 2026, these providers state on their page that they charge none: Voxara, Aria, Ask Benny, Virtual Assistant Canada, Voxify and VocalOps in Canada, Dialzara and Hey Jodie among foreign providers, and the human answering service Ruby. Zenvox charges none either. Other pages do not mention it, which proves nothing either way: ask before you pay.

Is a per-minute or a per-call plan better?

It depends on how long your calls last. If your customers talk at length, to describe damage, a symptom or a file, a per-call plan gives you a predictable volume, since a long call counts no more than a short one. If your calls are brief and rare, a per-minute plan can cost less. Count the calls of a normal week, with their length, before you compare two prices.

Do you need a credit card to try an AI receptionist?

It depends on the provider. As of October 23, 2026, Aria, Allie (Allema), SYNAPSE.ai, Planevia, Hey Jodie and My AI Front Desk state that their trial needs no card, and Dialbox states that a card is required; the other pages do not say. At Zenvox, the free trial lasts 7 days, up to 20 answered calls, no card, and only your email is needed to start.

How often is this comparison updated?

The table is surveyed again every month, on the providers' official pages. The survey date is written in the table caption and next to each row; a price that changes between two surveys only shows at the next one. If a row looks out of date, the provider's page, linked in the row, is the reference.