How much does an AI receptionist cost in Canada in 2026?
The monthly price, the billing unit, setup fees, then how it compares with an answering service and with a hire: what really drives the cost, with Zenvox's eight prices.
How much should you budget each month?
At Zenvox, from $29 to $69 a month depending on your industry, in Canadian dollars and before tax. Every plan includes 50 Standard calls and 1 local number, with no setup fee and no contract. Free trial: 7 days, 20 answered calls, no card.
The eight industry plans: Contractors & trades $39 · Clinics & home care $69 · Real estate $45 · Law & accounting firms $49 · Garages & auto repair $55 · Veterinary clinics $59 · Salons, gyms, classes & shops $29 · Restaurants & caterers $35. Price follows the industry rather than a volume tier, because a clinic and a repair shop do not get the same calls or follow the same rules.
Elsewhere in the Canadian market, two entry prices only compare once you know the unit each provider counts: minutes, calls, credits or a flat plan. The table below sets published entry prices side by side, on the date each was read; the sections after it explain how to read them, then how an AI receptionist compares with an answering service and with a hire.
Where you probably are
You run a small business somewhere in Canada, and calls come in while you work: on a job site, with a customer, behind the wheel. You are comparing AI receptionists, and their pricing pages look nothing alike. One shows minutes, another calls, a third credits, and a fourth asks for a setup fee first.
Currencies vary too: a price published in US dollars is not a Canadian price, and the gap depends on the day's exchange rate. Before choosing, bring every offer back to one question: what will a normal month of your calls cost, all in?
Published entry prices in Canada, provider by provider
The same survey as on the pricing page: the Zenvox row comes from our price list, every other row from the provider's official page, on the date shown. On a phone, scroll the table sideways.
| Provider | Entry price per month | Included volume | Setup fee | Free trial | French | Company country | Page read on |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OKAI Canadaokai.ca | $5* | 25 minutes | not stated | 3 days | not stated | Canada | , OKAI Canada pricing page |
| Zenvoxzenvox.caPublisher of this page | $29 to $698 industry plans, no contract | 50 Standard calls, whatever their length; 1 local number | none | 7 days, 20 answered calls, no card | yes | Canada | Pricingthe publisher’s own price list |
| Voxaravoxara.ca | $49 | 100 minutes | none | not mentioned | not stated | Canada | , Voxara pricing page |
| Ailloaillo.ca | $49 US | 150 minutes | not stated | not mentioned | yes | Canada | , Aillo pricing page |
| RoehAIroehai.com | $49 US* | 120 minutes | not stated | 7 days | not stated | Canada | , RoehAI pricing page |
| Ariaheyaria.ca | $59 | 150 minutes | none | 7 days, no card | yes | Canada | , Aria pricing page |
| Allie (Allema)allie.allema.ca | $99* | 250 minutes | not stated | 14 days, no card | yes | Canada | , Allie (Allema) pricing page |
| Ask Bennyaskbenny.ca | $99 | 300 minutes | none | 7 days | yes | Canada | , Ask Benny pricing page |
| Clémentine (Allesi)allesi.ca | from $99* | volume not published | from $300* | not mentioned | yes | Canada | , Clémentine (Allesi) pricing page |
| Virtual Assistant Canadavirtualassistantcanada.ca | $99 | 200 minutes | none | not mentioned | not stated | Canada | , Virtual Assistant Canada pricing page |
| Dialboxdialbox.ca | $129 | 100 calls | not stated | 7 days, card required | not stated | Canada | , Dialbox pricing page |
| Sofia (Nexia)nexia-ai.ca | $197* | 250 minutes | $499* | not mentioned | yes | Canada | , Sofia (Nexia) pricing page |
| Agent IA Vocalagentiavocal.ca | $199 US | 60 minutes | $999 US | not mentioned | yes | Canada | , Agent IA Vocal pricing page |
| Zenicallzenicall.ca | $200 | 120 minutes | $495 | not mentioned | yes | Canada | , Zenicall pricing page |
| Allô Cliniqueallo-clinique.com | $299* | 300 calls (clinics) | $499*, refundable on conditions | 14 days | not stated | Canada | , Allô Clinique pricing page |
| Mihron AImihronai.ca | $299 | volume not published (fair use) | not stated | 14 days | yes | Canada | , Mihron AI pricing page |
| Nova Secrétariatnovasecretariat.ca | $299* | 500 minutes | $2,500* | not mentioned | yes | Canada | , Nova Secrétariat pricing page |
| Voxifyvoxify.ca | $300 | no call cap advertised | none | not mentioned | yes | Canada | , Voxify pricing page |
| VocalOpsvocalops.ca | $400 | 500 minutes | none | not mentioned | not stated | Canada | , VocalOps pricing page |
| SYNAPSE.aitrysynapse.ca | $497* | no call cap advertised (restaurants) | not stated | 14 days, no card | yes | Canada | , SYNAPSE.ai pricing page |
| AutoScale AIautoscaleai.ca | $797 | 700 minutes | not stated | not mentioned | yes | Canada | , AutoScale AI pricing page |
* currency inferred from the vendor’s page: the page only writes “$”, and the currency shown is that of the company’s home country.
Published monthly prices, billed monthly, before tax, in Canadian dollars unless marked “US”. Currencies not converted.
“From”: the entry price is a floor, and the vendor does not detail what raises it.
“French”: “yes” when the page names French as a call language, “no” when it names other languages without it. Amounts billed beyond the included volume are not in this table.
The Zenvox row comes from the price list of Zenvox, which publishes this page. Every other row comes from the vendor’s official page, read on the date shown.
Per minute, per call or per credit: what each unit makes you pay
A per-minute plan counts time on the phone. It costs little when calls are short and rare; it runs out fast when your customers take the time to describe water damage, a symptom or a file. A six-minute call uses as much as three two-minute calls.
A per-call plan counts conversations, whatever their length. You budget the month by counting your calls, without timing anyone. This is the unit Zenvox uses: one answered conversation is one call, whether it lasts one minute or ten.
A credit plan converts each action into units, on a grid set by the provider: a call, a minute, a text or a written reply are not worth the same number of credits. To compare it, convert a normal month of your business into its grid.
Flat plans with no stated cap exist too. Read the terms of use, where a limit can be written somewhere other than the pricing page.
What the listed price includes
Read the included volume before the price itself: an entry plan can count a few dozen minutes or several hundred. Then read what comes with it: a local number, call languages, the summary after the call, booking. Two plans at the same price can buy two different services.
At Zenvox, every plan includes 50 Standard calls and 1 local number. Your receptionist answers in the evening and on weekends, in English and French, asks the questions of your trade, books appointments in your calendar, texts back a customer whose call was missed and sends you a text summary after every call. These tasks are part of the base plan in all eight industries.
Other tasks are added when they help: the email inbox, Instagram, Messenger and WhatsApp messages, Google review requests, or add-ons specific to your industry, such as estimates for a contractor or reminders for a clinic. You choose them yourself, and the free trial includes them.
After the 50 included calls, you add volume from your workspace in seconds, and you follow your usage there live.
Setup fees and the contract
Some providers charge for setup: configuring the agent, writing the script, an onboarding session. Others state it at zero, and others do not mention it. A fee a page does not mention is not a fee that does not exist: ask in writing before you pay.
Zenvox charges no installation, setup or activation fee. You set up your receptionist yourself, starting from your email, with no consultation and no API key: it reads your website, you confirm the useful facts, then you hand it a first task.
The contract matters as much as the price. A monthly plan with no commitment can be left the following month; an agreement of a year or more cannot. Read the commitment length and the notice period before the amount. At Zenvox, the plan is monthly with no contract.
An AI receptionist or an answering service
A telephone answering service puts a person on the line. Its price follows that person's time: minutes of conversation, or calls handled one by one. The longer your customers talk, the more the month costs.
An AI receptionist does not carry that per-minute cost of a person. At Zenvox, the monthly plan covers 50 calls, whether they last one minute or ten, evenings and weekends included. At equal volume, that is what generally makes it cheaper than an answering service: the difference comes from how the price works, not from a promotion.
A person keeps the edge in a delicate conversation, where judgement matters more than speed: a complaint, a negotiation, bad news. If your calls are mainly of that kind, a human answering service is worth its price. If they are requests to note, appointments to book and emergencies to recognize, an AI receptionist does that work without you paying a person by the minute.
An AI receptionist or a hire
A hire compares in hours of presence, not in calls: a wage, employer payroll costs, vacation, cover during time off, and a schedule that stops in the evening. The Government of Canada's Job Bank publishes wages by occupation and by region, receptionists included: that is the source to check for your city.
Then compare the hourly wage published for your region with the monthly price of your plan.
The two do not do the same work. A person at the front desk greets people at the counter, files, invoices and settles what cannot be settled by phone. An AI receptionist takes the calls nobody is free to take: in the evening, on weekends, while you are on a job site or with a customer. The two combine: the person by day, the receptionist for the rest, or for the calls that overflow.
What changes from one province to another
Currency and taxes. Zenvox shows its prices in Canadian dollars, before tax; sales taxes are added according to your province. A plan published in US dollars converts at the day's rate, which the table does not do for you.
Languages. A call can come in English or French anywhere in the country. Check that the receptionist understands both without a paid add-on: at Zenvox, English and French are in every plan.
The number. Every plan includes a local number. You can also keep your current number and forward it to your receptionist, when you are busy or all the time.
In Quebec, Law 25 adds to the federal privacy law: ask each provider where your recordings are kept and where the voice is processed in real time. Zenvox's answer is written at the bottom of this page.
What we read, and when
Checked on
Check it yourself
The pages of the site that carry the figures and facts of this article.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an AI receptionist cost per month in Canada?
At Zenvox, from $29 to $69 a month in Canadian dollars, depending on your industry, with 50 Standard calls and 1 local number included. Elsewhere, the entry price depends on what the provider counts: minutes, a number of calls, credits or a flat plan. Only compare two prices when they count the same thing.
Per minute, per call or per credit: which is cheaper?
It depends on how long your calls last. Short, rare calls cost little per minute; long calls, where a customer describes damage or a file, cost less per call, since a long call counts no more than a short one. A credit plan compares once a normal month of your business is converted into its grid.
Are there setup fees?
Not at Zenvox: no installation, setup or activation fee, and no contract. Elsewhere, some providers charge one, some state it at zero and some do not mention it: ask in writing before you pay.
Is an AI receptionist cheaper than an answering service?
At equal volume, generally yes, because of how the price works: an answering service pays a person for every minute on the phone, and an AI receptionist does not. At Zenvox, the monthly plan covers 50 calls whatever their length, evenings and weekends included. A person keeps the edge in a delicate conversation, where judgement matters more than speed.
Is it cheaper than hiring?
For answering the phone, yes: a hire is paid by the hour of presence, with payroll costs, vacation and cover, while a Zenvox plan is a fixed monthly price. The Government of Canada's Job Bank publishes receptionist wages by region: compare them with your plan. A person also handles front-desk work, which an AI receptionist does not.
Do I need a credit card to try it?
No. Free trial: 7 days, up to 20 answered calls, no card. Add-ons are included in the trial, and there is no setup fee.
What happens after the 50 included calls?
After the 50 included calls, you add volume from your workspace in seconds. You follow your usage there live, and you can also ask your receptionist for it in writing.